Chapter 7:20 The Plans of a Mastermind

Carter Twyllodrus Bug Transcript: 0704o716

[The recording begins with a man standing in a long room, presumably in a dungeon, based on the echoes.  He is talking to himself quietly, but audibly enough to understand his words.  He is holding a long katana, the form of Excalibur when in the hands of Nobunaga.  He is moving gracefully with precise steps and strikes, doing the deadly dance of a master swordsman]

The meeting was as successful as I assumed it would be. [A swoosh, followed by a loud crack as an energy blast slams into the wall]  I am quite disappointed with the Peahens. I will keep them around of course, I prefer to spend other people’s money.  I will not however tolerate another disappointed by them.  I can procure their wealth and resources if I need to, though I would prefer to stay out of the spot light.  There is too much at stake for the media to know who I am.  Only I, [Another swoosh and crack] can save this world.

[Nobunaga dances further from the recorder, but then slides back closer than before]

The rest of the meeting was perhaps more interesting.  Vain was an astounding success.  It did take her a few tries, but she none the less achieved her goal.  I also found Zheng rather amusing.  His new power could come in very handy, though he is brash and arrogantly parades around with a scribe, like anyone will actually ever read his pathetic life story.  [A sigh can be heard as he relaxes from his routine]  The rest are only necessary tolerances.  I do have faith in Boesehosen and James’s abilities to create items of extreme consequence, however, they yet to realize that the greatest power comes from items already created.  Their work could jump decades ahead if we had the Alchemical Engine, The Eternal Flame, or even the Greek winds.  I do believe my little show of Excalibur’s power at least sparked most of their interests’, though when not being used as a key it is in its entirety simply a weapon.  [He slides the sword into its sheath]  Vain said she had some things to attend to at home, which is fine, she shouldn’t be needed on this next mission.  We now have all of Thaddeus’s men at our disposal.  Rose will have to sit this one out as well, we have our intelligence, but I hope she will be able to dig something up in the meantime.

Overall, I’d say everyone responded well.  Several desired to go to Australia, either to redeem themselves or for the cause.  Which they actually believe is to destroy the Godspeed Merchant Fleet, their puny Lollygag, and that rogue airpirate X. Pah!  It’s true that they have a couple of the Genesis keys, but I highly doubt they have any idea what those items are truly used for.  They probably just think they are shiny or some scientist wants to study it, but that won’t get them anywhere.  I will worry about this ship when they actually figure something out.  But if burying them and their company will cause this group of bent humans to completely sell out to my vision, then it is a necessary task.

Well, I do think that is enough.  This blade is quite impressive but I prefer my own sword.  I will go make the final arrangements for Australia.

[Light footsteps can be heard until at last, the room is silent]

 


Leave a comment