Chapter 4.2: Partings of Many Ways

Journal Entry: Addy Windrush

I never thought an airship of some several thousand hands could feel so empty. There are only a comparable handful of crew missing, but this ship feels like a ghost ship to me. I guess it is because everyone I would normally have around me are all out and about having adventures and I am stuck in Vienna having to attend all the opening events for the Imperial Social Season with the one person who I am barely able to tolerate at the moment.

Addy, you sound like a spoiled child. You are in the heart of the Prussian Empire. Political alliances and accords  achieved in the coming weeks will shape the political landscape for the coming year. Here I am where the next week’s, month’s, and year’s news will begin. This is journalistic gold. Add to that the extravagant parties to attend in luxurious gowns courted by handsome wealthy men and I should be giddy.

 But, I wanted to be a part of the mission to Boeseburg!

Stupid cracked ribs!

Insufferable Robin Swift!

I could barely believe my eyes when I saw The Marauder pull up beside The Lollygag. I had just stepped outside onto The Terrace because I needed some air after a nightmare when the next thing I know I am face to face with X. That clockwork mask he wears is beautiful and menacing. I shiver just thinking of it. The most likely cause is that I usually see it just moments before the rogue is trying to kidnap me. There can be thousands of other people in a crowd and the scoundrel will find me to kidnap every time! I can tell you my blaster was in my hands before my mind had time to comprehend my actions.

Unconcernedly he brushed my blaster aside. Understandably I backed up and instinctively lowered into a fighting stance. I must have been holding my breath for my lungs began to burn, or that could have been my ribs.  X took another step forward closing the gap between us. I could hear his mechanical eerily melodic voice assuring me he had no business with me when bounty hunter decided to intervene. I was almost happy to see him. Not that I will ever admit to being happy to see a bounty hunter. And it turned out that he would have been useless if X was serious about causing trouble. Ryan had to break up the fight. And that is when I first heard that X was there by request.

How could they invite X on board without telling me? The Godspeeds always confide their plans to me!   The Lollygag Schematics were stolen. I knew that. Malencia had been the one to overhear X plotting with a woman who we now know as Penny Wynne. The schematics are now in the hands of Baron Von Boesehosen of the Barony of Boese. He has taken the schematics to his fortress masquerading as a university in Boeseburg. I knew they couldn’t let that go. This ship has secrets the world has yet to see. The firepower and maneuverability this ship conceals is years ahead of anyone else. It would be devastating in the wrong hands. In the hands of a Boesehosen it could be the end of the world.

But to work with X? I can’t say it isn’t unprecedented. The Godspeeds are masters of contracting the loyalty of anyone even if only for a short time. They have convinced X to double cross Penny Wynne and bring the schematics back to the Lollygag. I would say to leave Penny Wynne out of it altogether, but apparently she has a map of the underground labyrinth that winds under the entire city of Boeseburg. Without that map it could take a year to locate the hiding place!

Understandably no one trusts X. So part of the bargain was that Godspeed personnel pose as X’s Renegades to keep an eye on him. X wasn’t too keen on the idea. But what he doesn’t know is that our crew is more than qualified for such an undertaking.

Malencia went with X. She said she had her reasons for not wanting to be so close to nobility.

That bounty hunter won’t let X out of his sight- so of course he went along.Not that he is actually one of our crew.

Kavi and Ashwin went with Jed so they could use three Painted Ponies as transport. They will prove most advantageous attachment to the party if any fighting should break out. My cousins have more power than anyone would suspect.

Also that new guy Andreas was scouted to go along. They said something about his skill in sabotage being needed if Boesehosen has already started building.

I expected Ryan and Seamus to be going with X as well. But the Godspeeds are christening their new Luxury Air Yacht, The Gadabout, as part of the Imperial Social Season Opening Events. Ryan was recruited to go and help Captain Steadyhelm vet all the incoming crew. Most of them are from other ships. I wouldn’t think that they would need Ryan, but the Godspeeds insisted. Given that The Lollygag nearly fell out of the sky on her maiden voyage, I suppose their paranoia is warranted.

Seamus was also sent to The Gadabout to make sure she was ready to fly. The last I heard from him he was saying that any ship he had  hand in designing and building wouldn’t fall out of the sky unless I happened to board it. That man infuriates me. My name is not a swear word!

All in all everyone was going this way and that, but alas the Godspeeds agreed with Robin that I should remain in Vienna. If it were just Robin I would have gone with X. But I feel like I can’t contradict the Godspeeds. Not after Industrial City. Yes, I am aware that my actions caused quite an alarm. I need to keep my head down for now so they won’t fuss the next time I gallivant off after another story lead.

Get over it already Addy. You are in Vienna for the opening of the Imperial Social Season. With any luck there will be plenty of intrigue for you to get caught up in right here under Robin’s nose.

copy-airship-lollygag-stamp-logo1.gif


2 responses to “Chapter 4.2: Partings of Many Ways

Leave a comment